133 replies to this topic

#1 Darian DelFord

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 3,342 posts
  • LocationFlorida

Posted 24 September 2014 - 08:30 AM

The Reason Clan 73% Win Rate On The Last Test Must Be Taken With A Grain of Salt!

First and foremost I am an IS Pilot. I am part of a Davion unit and as such will not be using the clan mechsin CW. With that said I have bought every package that PGI has put out and I will buy the Man of War package as well next pay check. I have a problem with the 73% number that is being thrown around. One of the problems with balance in this game is it is not based on consistency. Meaning Knee Jerk reactions to try to fix a few problem chassis, and as such there are blanket wide changes that truly destroy some mechs and builds.

What I would love to see is another IS vs Clan test using a control group. That control group being players of equal ELO (Prefer Skill base but hard to get those numbers) preferably from the higher ELO range. The reasoning is when you have data coming in from all over the place, less than reliable does not even describe it. In the matches that I participated in during the last test the IS won decidedly in all of them, it was not even a match, it was a ROFLSTOMP by the IS. My question is, what skill levels participated? More importantly, was it consistent players?

Was player A in the same mech throughout the test or did he change into a mech he does not normally play? There are so many variables you cannot base balance based off of a mere percentage which can easily be proven false.